STEM Families Virtual Home Lab

STEM Virtual Home Lab Logo

STEM FAMILIES Virtual Home Lab is a series of workshops to share practical tips, virtual experiments and other concrete tools that families – even those with little time, few resources and no STEM exposure or teaching experience – can use to engage their children’s learning.

STEM education leaders from across the country will offer a variety of activities for different age groups to engage students in STEM learning with resources that you have around the house.

Upcoming Workshops

Mindfulness Jar

Date: Thursday May 28, 2020 1 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT

If you’re looking for a way to help your family maintain strong mental health during these difficult times, then this lab is for you. The mind jar is a mindfulness tool used to visually show how mindfulness can help us pause and respond to a difficult situation with more clarity and calmness. Families will be making their own mind jars while students explore and discover the science behind how it works.

This activity is ideal for grades 4-8 but all grade levels are welcomed to participate.

Previous Home Labs

Interested in sharing a story for "Our Neighborhood"? Click here to tell us!